NEWS: Dance On Ensemble at Dance Munich Festival

Dance On Ensemble at Dance Munich Festival

8–9 May 2021: Works In Silence by Lucinda Childs
15–16 May 2021: Rabih Mroué double bill

Programme 1 (video stream)

„And one – two – three – four …“ The usual command doesn’t set the tempo of the music in the pieces by Lucinda Childs, but of the silence. Her evening performance of „Works in Silence“ brings together five important works from the 1970s. Childs, who is among the most significant and productive choreographers of the present, was a member of the innovative Judson Dance Theater movement. The collective revolutionized dance in New York in the 1960s. Childs varies walking, hopping, and running, she experiments with the behavior of the human body during rapid changes in direction, and the effect of minimal shifts in movement patterns. The dancers of the Dance On ensemble bring the hypnotic effect of these works back to the stage approximately 45 years after their world premiere.


Programme 2 (live stream)

This evening presents two dance pieces by Rabih Mroué, the Lebanese artist, actor, and performer who lives in Berlin; he created the pieces for and with the superb dancers of the ensemble Dance On. After „Water Between Three Hands“ (2016) the internationally renowned artist and the company worked together for a second time. In „Elephant“ (2018) he uses – as in many of his pieces – documentary material in order to blend personal and collective archives into one another. Here it’s pencil sketches of bodies lying on the ground. Are these people resting? Are they sleeping? The restrained atmosphere soon gives way to other associations, images of victims of violence or refugees whose lifeless bodies washed ashore. For a year Rabih Mroué gave himself the task of sketching a dead body every day. For „Elephant“ three hundred and sixteen images from this collection were selected, and over the course of the piece they will be projected on the back wall of the stage. Jone San Martin and Ty Boomershine translate with Mroué the concept into movement; Mattef Kuhlmey composed the music for the piece.

For the second work of the evening, „You Should Have Seen Me Dancing Waltz“ (2019) Rabih Mroué also worked closely with the dancers. Reports about deaths and destruction, horrible images as soon as you page through a newspaper and which keep recuring – what if one would never get used to this? The dancers read the newspaper, we hear the sentences, movement echoes, and in turn they are put into words. Rabih Mroué poses political and moral questions with both pieces, and he transposes them into space, speaking, and dance.